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Ohio Department of Medicaid 

Decision on Your Request for a Hardship Exemption 

Case Number 

 

Mailing Date 

 

Institutionalized Individual’s Name 

 

Authorized Representative’s Name 

 

Nursing Facility 

 

Authorized Representative’s Street Address 

 

County 

 

Authorized Representative’s City, State, Zip Code 

 

You requested a hardship exemption due to: 

        An improper transfer of assets resulting in a restricted Medicaid coverage period during  
which Medicaid will not make payments for long term care services in a nursing facility, 
enrollment in a home and community based services (HCBS) waiver or enrollment in the 
Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE). 

        Home equity in excess of $500,000 resulting in no eligibility for Medicaid payment for long  
term care services in a nursing facility, enrollment in a home and community based services 
(HCBS) waiver or enrollment in the Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE). 

Your request has been:     Approved             Denied 

Reason for decision: 
 
 
 

Ohio Administrative Code rules supporting this decision: 

 5101:1-39-07 Medicaid: transfer of resources. 

 5101:1-39-31 Medicaid: treatment of the home. 

 Other  

Eligibility Worker 
 

District/ID 
 

Telephone Number 
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Ask For a State Hearing If You Want to Appeal 
 
Ask for a state hearing if you disagree with what we are doing or think we are making a mistake. At the state 
hearing, you can explain your reasons. We will explain our reasons. A hearing officer from the Ohio 
Department of Job and Family Services will decide who is right. 
 
If you want a hearing, we must receive your hearing request within 90 days of the mailing date on this notice. 
 
Someone else may help you (a lawyer, social worker, friend, relative, etc.). Someone else may request a 
hearing for you and come to the hearing with you. 
 
You can ask your local Legal Aid program for free help with your case. Call the Ohio State Legal Services 
Association at 1-800-589-5888 (a free call) if you need the local phone number. 
 
Federal law requires us to keep your health information private. This includes all of the information we have 
about your health, the health care you get, payments Ohio Medicaid makes for your health care, etc. Our 
“HIPAA Privacy Notice” tells you more about your privacy rights under the law. You may get a copy of the 
notice by calling the Ohio Medicaid Consumer Hotline toll-free at (800) 324-8680 or by visiting our web site at 
www.jfs.ohio.gov/hipaa/privacy.pdf. The law is the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 
(HIPAA). 
 
If you want to request a state hearing, following the directions below. If someone else makes a written hearing 
request for you, it must include a written statement, signed by you, telling us that person is your 
representative. Only you can make a request by telephone. 
 

State Hearing Request 
 
Sign and fill in the blanks. 
I think this policy is being incorrectly applied to me. I want a state hearing. 
 
Sign Here:__________________________________ Date: ___/____/_____ Phone: (____)______________ 
 
Complete this if someone else has already agreed to represent you (a lawyer, social worker, friend, 
relative, etc.). If someone later agrees to represent you, tell us then. 
 
Name: ____________________________________________ Phone: (_____) ________________________ 

Address: __________________________________________ Fax: (_____)___________________________ 

                __________________________________________  E-Mail:_______________________________ 

Choose one of these ways to send this request to us: 
 
Mail a copy of this page to Ohio Department of Job and Family Services, Bureau of State Hearings, P.O. Box 
182825, Columbus, Ohio 43218-2825. 

OR 
 

Fax only this side of this page to (614) 728-9574 (ODJFS, Bureau of State Hearings), 
 

OR 
 

E-mail to bsh@odjfs.state.oh.us. Please include your name, address, case number, and tell us why you are 
requesting a hearing. 

OR 
 
Phone the ODJFS Customer Access Line at 1-866-635-3748 (1-866-ODJFS-4-U) and follow instructions for 
state hearings. Only you may phone. 
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